BMMC Presidents

Ben Edwards
2020 - to date

Ben first started out in motorsport as a mechanic for Formula Ford teams in 1982, before beginning a career as a racing driver.  He won the first Formula First championship, and went on to become champion in Caterham-Vauxhall sports cars. He also took part in the Euro Vauxhall Lotus championship.

When Eurosport lost the rights to Formula One at the end of 1996, Edwards became the voice of Champ Car racing for viewers of Eurosport and ESPN International, also carried by Channel 5.

In 2002, Edwards joined ITV to commentate on the British Touring Car Championship. He also took on the role of lead commentator for F1 Digital +, and was reunited with his old colleague, John Watson. F1 Digital + finished at the end of the 2002 season, but since 2005 Watson and Edwards have been working together on Sky Sports and the international feed for A1 Grand Prix.

On occasions when British Touring Car Championship and A1 Grand Prix races clashed, he was replaced on ITV by John Hindhaugh.

Edwards has also commentated on other motorsport events for Eurosport and British TV, including coverage of the British Formula Three Championship (alongside Martin Haven), and the Superleague Formula series.

On 13 December 2011, it was confirmed that Edwards would replace Martin Brundle as the BBC's lead commentator for Formula One in 2012, working alongside David Coulthard. Toby Moody took Edwards' place for the BTCC in 2012. Edwards worked across BBC TV, Radio and online.  Edwards made a one-off return to the BBC in 2021 for the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix, commentating on BBC Radio 5 Live, filling in for Jack Nicholls. He also replaced Nicholls for the 2021 French Grand Prix.

In 2016, Edwards moved to Channel 4 to continue commentating on Formula 1, again working alongside David Coulthard. The move came after the BBC terminated its TV rights agreement early, and Channel 4 picked the deal up. Edwards stepped down from his commentary role at Channel 4 after the conclusion of the 2020 season. He was succeeded by Alex Jacques. However he subsequently filled in for Jacques at the 2021 Styrian Grand Prix and 2021 Austrian Grand Prix (Qualifying Only) when Jacques had to self-isolate after fellow member of the commentary team Billy Monger tested positive for COVID-19.

In 2022, Edwards rejoined the Formula One Media team at its Biggin Hill headquarters to lead the commentary for F1TV's worldwide output. In this role, he commentated along former Formula One driver Jolyon Palmer.

Ben continues to commentate on a wide range of events across the UK and is a big supporter of the marshals’ club – taking time to attend training at Snetterton and mention marshals at any given opportunity!

Barrie "Whizzo" Williams
2004 - 2018

(1938 - 2018) Barrie started racing karts and his first car race was at Rufforth in Yorkshire in Easter 1960.  Barrie famously won the 1964 Welsh Rally in his Mini Cooper S.  In the mid-60s he dabbled in single seater racing.  Through the 1970s and 1980s he campaigned a wide array of saloon and touring cars and raced for the works Colt team in the BTCC. He was a star in Production Saloons and became a one-make ace with titles in Ford Fiestas and Renault 5s. 

Later, historics beckoned and proved an ideal fit for Barrie’s ability to slide a car to outrageous angles yet keep it under control. He won several times at Goodwood, notably in the inaugural TT Celebration in 1998 piloting Nigel Corner’s Jaguar E-type. As his health deteriorated, he hung up his helmet at the end of 2017 and called time on a remarkable career.

Stuart Turner
1998 - 2004

has had a lifelong interest and involvement in motor sport and has competed as co-driver on most major international rallies.

He became Sports Editor of "Motoring News" then Competition Manager for BMC, managing the rally team when Minis were winning Monte Carlo Rallies.

Two years at Castrol as Publicity Manager, then joined Ford as Competitions Manager, guiding the team to wins on the Safari and London-to-Mexico rallies and many others.

Later he headed a special Ford Division which designed and manufactured performance cars and then was made Director of Public Affairs at Ford in 1975.

Appointed Director - European Motor Sports in 1983 with responsibility for Ford's race and rally programme across Europe.

Author of over twenty books on motor sport and business including The Public Speaker's Bible, Public Speaking in Business and Planning and Organising Business Functions.

Graeme Murray Walker OBE
1978 - 1998

(10 October 1923 – 13 March 2021) was an English motorsport commentator and journalist. He provided television commentary of live Formula One coverage for the BBC between 1976 and 1996, and for ITV between 1997 and 2001.

During his 23-year run as full-time commentator, Walker became known for his animated enthusiasm, authoritative voice and comical blunders – dubbed "Murrayisms" by fans – during live races. His commentary voice has been likened to a "screech and resembles a 500cc engine being revved up". He retired from full-time commentary after the 2001 United States Grand Prix, but returned to broadcasting part-time in 2005 and made occasional appearances on the BBC, Channel 4 and Sky Sports F1.

Lord Hesketh
1973 - 1978

Thomas Alexander Fermor-Hesketh, 3rd Baron Hesketh, KBE, PC (born 28 October 1950) is a British peer and UK Independence Party politician.  Known for his love of motor racing, Hesketh founded Hesketh Racing in 1972, best known for competing in Formula One from 1973 to 1978. The team was famous for its flamboyant and patriotic approach to the sport and for refusing sponsorship. Between 1973 and 1975 the team had some success with the English driver James Hunt, including winning the 1975 Dutch Grand Prix. He later was president of the British Racing Drivers' Club, from 1993 to 2000.

Raymond Frederic Baxter OBE
1959 - 1973

(25 January 1922 – 15 September 2006) was an English television presenter, commentator and writer. He is best known for being the first presenter of the BBC Television science programme Tomorrow's World, continuing for 12 years, from 1965 to 1977. He also provided radio commentary at the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, the funerals of King George VI, Winston Churchill and Lord Mountbatten of Burma, and the first flight of Concorde.